Insta Book Tour – Daughter of Darkness

Title: Daughter of Darkness (House of Shadows #1)

Author: Katharine & Elizabeth Corr

Genre: YA Fantasy/ Mythology

My Rating:

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Source: ARC

Synopsis:

Enter the Underworld in an epic new fantasy, where the Gods of ancient Greece rule everything but fate.

Deina is trapped. As one of the Soul Severers serving the god Hades on earth, her future is tied to the task of shepherding the dying on from the mortal world – unless she can earn or steal enough to buy her way out.

Then the tyrant ruler Orpheus offers both fortune and freedom to whoever can retrieve his dead wife, Eurydice, from the Underworld. Deina jumps at the chance. But to win, she must enter an uneasy alliance with a group of fellow Severers she neither likes nor trusts.

So begins their perilous journey into the realm of Hades. . . The prize of freedom is before her – but what will it take to reach it?

From the authors of A THRONE OF SWANS and A CROWN OF TALONS comes a stunning new YA duology set in a world inspired by the mythology of ancient Greece.

Perfect for fans of Alexandra Bracken’s LORE and Jessie Burton’s MEDUSA.

My Review:

I’d like to thank Insta Book Tours for contacting me to take part in this blog tour, this was my first tour with this company and I have to say I can’t wait to do more. With this book we did a group readalong and chatted once a week, over the course of three weeks. It was great to see what everyone else was thinking and the different predictions they had.

I have only recently found myself getting into Greek mythology, it’s a subject I’ve always been fascinated by and my little collection at home is certainly growing. Whilst this book may not have as much blood and peril as you’d expect with Greek mythology, lets face it these tales are always tragic, I would say it’s an appropriate amount for YA and this would be a great introduction to this part of history.

Our story follows Deina, a soul severer that works for Hades. She is desperate to escape and earn her freedom and when the opportunity presents itself she jumps at the chance. Unfortunately this task does mean there will be a high chance that she could die before she gets her freedom but Deina is willing to risk it for that small chance that she survives.

Journeying into the underworld with Deina are Theron, Drex, Aster and Chryse. Whilst Aster initially annoyed me with his male bravado and need to lead I did find her grew on me by the end. Drex was my favourite, his quiet demeanour and savvy knowledge got them group out of a tight spot or too. However I think my favourite character of all was Nat. The mystery about who he really was and the role he played in the underworld was brilliantly executed. Given who he really is (no spoilers here) I shouldn’t like him but he’s completely charmed me, I really hope we get to see more of him in the next book.

By the time I got to the end I didn’t want it to stop. Both writers have stayed true to Greek history but put their own little twist on it, the Hades one being my favourite! I can not wait to read the next one and shall be going back through the author’s backlist to read the rest of their collection.

Don’t forget to check out the other stops on the tour!

Advertisement

3 thoughts on “Insta Book Tour – Daughter of Darkness

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: