#TsundokuSquad Book Club – April 2022 – Stargazer

Hello fellow bookworms!

This months book club pick was Stargazer by Laurie Petrou. Instead of splitting the book into 4 sections and chatting weekly we decided to catch up at the end of the month and see what we all thought. We all agreed that the weekly chat sometimes disturbed the flow of the reading and it was time to mix things up a bit. This is what we all thought of this months read.

Title: Stargazer

Author: Laurie Petrou

Genre: General Fiction/ Literary Fiction/ Mystery & Thriller

Goodreads Rating: 4.24

My Rating:

Rating: 3 out of 5.

#TsundokuSquad Average Rating:

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Source: ARC

Synopsis:

Summer 1995. Diana and Aurelle are inseparable, living together in Diana’s parents’ cottage on the edge of the Rocky Barrens University campus, about to start freshman year. The strength of their bond is undeniable, if unexpected: Diana is a highly ambitious, socially awkward art student while Aurelle is a more likeable, more fragile literature student and the daughter of famous artist Marianne Taylor. Plus, despite having lived next door to each other their whole lives, the girls have only grown close in the last twelve months.

As the college year progresses, their relationship becomes increasingly unstable, as do the girls themselves, threatening to unravel due to the intense feelings and complicated circumstances that underlie their bond. Yet, the biggest threat is posed by a secret one girl is keeping…

The lines between love, envy and obsession blur in Laurie Petrou’s utterly enthralling, unceasingly tense second novel. A darkly compelling coming-of-age thriller, perfect for fans of Donna Tartt’s The Secret History, or Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies.

#TsundokuSquad Review:

This months read was interesting and moved away from your usual genre. We had some very mixed views on this one with some of us enjoying it more than others. I was in the middle as there were parts that I did enjoy but the story didn’t grab me as much as I thought it would.

We all agreed that none of us liked Aurelle or Diana. Both of the lead characters weren’t entirely relatable and Aurelle in particular was a very weak character. We enjoyed the dark side to Diana but we all felt we knew where her story was leading so the twist at the end wasn’t surprising to us.

There were some moments that had us feeling sorry for Diana and you could understand why she was so twisted. She craved the life that Aurelle had and that was only going to lead down a dangerous path. We also felt sympathy for Aurelle when she became the focus for the paintings. For someone who wanted to stay out of the spotlight this didn’t do her any favours.

A few of us in the group wondered if maybe the genre was just not our cup of tea. Being avid crime and historical fiction readers a lot of us are keen on stories that flow quickly and this tick on at a slower pace. We all agreed that that it’s good to try different genres and just because some of us didn’t like this one doesn’t mean that others wouldn’t enjoy it. That’s the beauty of reading, each reader reacts differently to a story and will connect with it in a different way.

For May we are reading How to Kill Your Family by Bella Mackie so keep your eyes peeled for out thoughts on this one!

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: