Sequel September #3 – The Body on the Shore Review

Who would of thought that a few days later I would have yet another review ready for you all?! At this rate September could be my best month for reading, fingers crossed! Anyway here is book review 3 for you, hope you enjoy.

81ErWBkz5ML.__BG0,0,0,0_FMpng_AC_UL320_SR240,320_.jpg

A killer is at work in the supposedly-safe commuter belt.  DCI Gillard needs answers, fast…

Promising architect Peter Young is shot dead at his desk. DCI Craig Gillard is quickly on the scene, looking at what appears to be a brutal and highly professional hit: two bullets, fired with ice-cold calm.

Gillard knows that the most crucial question in solving the crime is one word: Why? Two weeks later, on the Lincolnshire coast, another body is found on a windswept beach. In this case there is no identity for the young man, just a curious brand burned into his neck….

As the mystery deepens Gillard is plunged into a case without answers, finding himself up against dark forces, people who believe in only two things: blood and a warped code of honour. This time lives are on the line, children’s lives – and his own.

Written at breakneck pace with a jaw-dropping twist you won’t see coming, the suspense-filled second DCI Gillard crime thriller is perfect for fans of Robert Bryndza, Patricia Gibney and Faith Martin.

When I saw this one come up on NetGalley I knew I had to request it. After taking part in a blog tour for the first book, The Body in the Marsh, I had hoped that I would enjoy this one just as much. I am very pleased to say that I did. Had it not been for the need to sleep I probably would of finished this book in one sitting. Each chapter made me want to read onto the next and because they were short I often found myself saying “Just one more chapter, then I’ll go to sleep”.

As with all sequels we see the return of a few familiar faces along with some new ones. It was great to see the Surrey team back together trying to uncover this mystery and watching them work made me feel like I was in the investigation with them. I loved some of the new characters, particularly the Albanian ones and the different levels they provided to the story.

All in all this was a fast paced, action packed story, full of twists and turns. I can honestly say, despite thinking I had solved the mystery and being proven wrong time and time again, the ending was a complete shock to me. In fact the person who ended up being the murdered had never crossed my mind. To me that is a sign of a very well written story. The other very noticeable fact about this story is how well the author has researched the Albanian history and other key parts.

It goes without saying that this book shall be getting a big 5* from me and I eagerly anticipate the next instalment of DCI Gillard.

signature

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: